Royal Golf Club du Sart Tilman

Menu

Menu

http://www.rgcst.be/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/DOC002.pdf

Course map

Hole n°1

Par 4 - Distance 305m

trou1-pic

With a slight dog leg to the right, the 1st hole is relatively easy due to its limited length. However, you must be supremely accurate with your tee shot or you may find yourself in the line of trees down the right side or in the hazards down the left.

Protected by a number of bunkers, the green is set on a double ridge which is easy to read.

Hole n°2

Par 3 - Distance 130m

trou2-pic

The 2nd hole is the first par 3 going out and is quite short but any balls which find the edge of the green will not stay on its convex shape. You may pay a high price for any risk you take off the tee but any lay-up may will be severely punished.

Hole n°3

Par 4 - Distance 336m

trou3-pic

You must be careful with this blind tee shot on this par 4. In fact, if you drive too far down the left, the tree on the fringe of the fairway will block your approach to the green. You can play safe by aiming straight down the middle of the fairway.

The second problem comes in the form of the strong incline of the green (one of the hardest on the course) which will feed your ball into a deep bunker located on the right.

Caution and application will therefore be the most beneficial approach for you to adopt.

Hole n°4

Par 4 - Distance 382m

trou4-pic

As the first genuine challenge on the front 9, the 4th hole provides a view looking down onto the green.

The large bunker on the right of the fairway will obviously gobble up any shots in that direction. However, playing down the left can be dangerous as the edge of the wood on the left is out of bounds.

The rising green will hold a well-struck ball but you should make sure that you do not come up too short or go too far right as your ball may be swallowed up by the ditch which adjoins the green.

Hole n°5

Par 4 - Distance 380m

trou5-pic

This par 4 is the most difficult on the course. Playing a short shot will mean that you can avoid the bunkers down the right and will give you a shot, albeit a blind one, into the green on flat land. Longer tee shots will give you a view of the flag but your feet will always be on ground either above or below the ball. Well, best of luck with that…

The treacherous green will sweep your ball to the right but an excessively cautious shot to the left will leave you a very delicate downhill putt (or a bunker shot).

Hole n°6

Par 3 - Distance 164m

trou6-pic

The second par 3 of the course will require great accuracy off the tee as the green does not afford many areas where you can stop your ball.

The green is surrounded by bunkers and, to make your task easier, you would be well advised to leave yourself an uphill putt.

Hole n°7

Par 5 - Distance 438m

trou7-pic

The first par 5 is pierced by a dog leg to the left which calls for an accurate tee shot so that you have an open second shot. You will be penalised if you go too far left. The longer hitters among you will reach the green in two which will give you the change of a well-earned birdie.

The green is set on a double ridge and the problem arises in terms of the length of the approach or the long putt if the flag is on the second ridge.

Hole n°8

Par 4 - Distance 318m

trou8-pic

A carefully considered shot on this dog leg to the right will give you a real chance of getting through this hole unscathed. The green is split into two areas and provided that you get the length of your second shot just right, you will be left with a putt that is not too difficult to negotiate.

Hole n°9

Par 5 - Distance 457m

trou9-pic

This long dog leg to the right gives you some margin for error provided that your shot is not too long. The longer hitters can try to reach the green in two, at least if there is not a sustained prevailing head-wind. But the area behind and to the left of the green is out of bounds which will make it a rather tricky task.

The green is relatively flat but it is well protected by three bunkers which will force the most experienced players to adopt a considered cautious approach.

Hole n°10

Par 3 - Distance 189m

trou10-pic

This long par 3 severely tests even the most patient of players. The left-hand side bunker is quite deep and will swallow any balls that roll off and complicate the task of any inaccurate players.

The green is set on a double ridge; it is very difficult to read and a “two-putt” will always be a great result. Be careful not to damage the new Club House…;-)

Hole n° 11

Par 4 - Distance 413m

trou11-pic

The most difficult hole coming in is a par 4 and requires a lengthy tee shot to make sure that you are not left with too long an approach shot to the green.

As there is a blind landing area for long hitters, you are better off playing your shot slightly to the left. You must be precise when attacking the green or your ball may find one of the two green-side bunkers.

The green pushes balls to the right and its strong incline will lead to a three-putt (or even worse) if you are not fully focused.

Hole n°12

Par 4 - Distance 375m

trou12-pic

This 375-metre par 4 will require accurate shot-making to prevent your ball from finding the rough or the trees lining the fairway. To give yourself a good chance of par, you will have to correctly weigh up the depth of the second shot so that you do not leave yourself a downhill putt (too short will always be better than too long on this green).

Hole n°13

Par 3 - Distance 156m

trou13-pic

This 156-metre par 3 hole perfectly sums up the architect’s philosophy: reachable length for any player, sloping green, well-protected (3 bunkers), requiring great accuracy in approach play (rather to the left-hand side) if you want to steer clear of any surprising elements…

Hole n° 14

Par 5 - Distance 497m

trou14-pic

The longest par 5 on the course slopes downwards all the way to the green. The difficulty will be in keeping a check on your enthusiasm and not risking going for the green in 2 unless you have hit the ball long and to the right. For those of a more cautious disposition, the third shot will only present one relative difficulty and the hole will make for good reading on your score card depending on the putt you are left with. You should watch out for the water hazard if you slice your ball. The flat-looking green will come back to haunt you if you are not on your guard.

Hole n°15

Par 4 - Distance 350m

trou15-pic

This 350-metre rising dog leg to the left is relatively wide but you will pay dearly for any rashness. You will be required to drive the ball a certain length off the tee if you wish to avoid bringing the hazards into play and/or leaving yourself a blind shot into the green. Bear in mind the ascent and the prevailing head-wind when you take your second shot. The green is relatively flat although slightly sloping on the left and you would be well advised to aim for the centre of the green.

Hole n°16

Par 5 - Distance 461m

trou16-pic

Second par 5 of the back nine, unlike the 14th, this hole climbs from tee to green. You will have to weigh up the depth of your stroke into the green as it will be a blind shot. Be careful not to lay up too close to the green as you may find your ball in one of the bunkers or, worse still, buried deep in the wood. The green is quite long and your balls will tend to drift towards the right-hand side bunker.

Hole n°17

Par 3 - Distance 136m

trou17-pic

The most accessible hole on the course (phew!) as this rather short par 3 will not penalise small mistakes in view of the fact that the bunkers do not really come into play. Having said that, be careful of the slope as it will release balls to the front edge of the green or will leave you with a relatively delicate downhill putt.

Hole n°18

Par 5 - Distance 436m

trou18-pic

A par 5 to finish on a good note…Admittedly, this 436-metre hole will not intimidate the longest hitters out there, but the bunkers might just do so. A good draw shot will open up the second shot and, provided that you carefully position your second shot, you will have a reasonably easy shot into the green. Furthermore, the green is generally flat. But don’t forget that down the left is out of bounds.

Royal Golf Club du Sart Tilman

Menu

Menu

http://www.rgcst.be/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/DOC002.pdf

Plan du parcours

Trou n°1

Par 4 - Distance 305m

trou1-pic

Léger dogleg droit, le trou n°1 est relativement simple de par sa longueur limitée. Néanmoins, votre départ devra être d’une redoutable précision au risque de vous retrouver dans le couloir d’arbres à droite ou dans les obstacles de gauche.

Protégé par des bunkers, le green présente un double plateau dont la lecture est aisée.

Trou n°2

Par 3 - Distance 130m

trou2-pic

Premier par 3 de l’aller, le trou n°2 est assez court mais la forme bombée du green rejettera les balles excentrées vers l’extérieur. Une prise de risque sur le coup de départ peut s’avérer payante mais toute approximation sera sévèrement sanctionnée.

Trou n°3

Par 4 - Distance 336m

trou3-pic

Vous devrez vous montrer prudent au départ en aveugle de ce par 4. En effet, si votre mise en jeu est trop à gauche, l’arbre en bordure de fairway sera gênant pour atteindre le green. Par prudence, visez la bosse au milieu du fairway.

La deuxième difficulté réside dans la forte inclinaison du green (l’un des plus difficiles du parcours) qui fera glisser votre balle dans un profond bunker situé sur la droite.

Prudence et application seront donc vos meilleurs alliés.

Trou n°4

Par 4 - Distance 382m

trou4-pic

Premier réel défi de l’aller, le trou n°4 offre une vue plongeante jusqu’au green.

Le grand bunker sur la droite du fairway attire naturellement les mises en jeu,.Cependant, jouer vers la gauche peut s’avérer dangereux si l’on se rapproche trop du hors limite qui borde le bois de gauche.

Le green en montée arrêtera une balle bien contactée mais il faudra veiller à ne pas être trop court, ni trop à droite, au risque de voir votre balle dévaler dans le fossé jouxtant le green.

Trou n°5

Par 4 - Distance 380m

trou5-pic

Ce par 4 est le trou le plus difficile du parcours. Une mise en jeu courte permettra d’éviter les bunkers de droite mais vous laissera une attaque du green, certes à plat, mais en aveugle. Les mises en jeu plus longues vous donneront un accès visuel au drapeau mais vous n’aurez à aucun moment les pieds à plat. Bref, courage…

Le green, diabolique, chassera littéralement votre balle vers la droite mais une trop grande prudence en visant la partie gauche du green risque de vous laisser un putt (ou une sortie de bunker) en descente très délicat.

Trou n°6

Par 3 - Distance 164m

trou6-pic

Second par 3 du parcours, ce trou nécessitera une précision accrue lors de la mise en jeu tant le green laisse peu de zones pour arrêter la balle.

Le green est encerclé par des bunkers et, afin de vous simplifier la tâche, il sera de bon ton de vous laisser un putt en montée.

Trou n°7

Par 5 - Distance 438m

trou7-pic

Premier par 5, ce dogleg gauche nécessite un départ précis afin de pouvoir s’ouvrir le deuxième coup. Trop à gauche et ce sera la punition. Les plus longs frappeurs atteindront le green en deux coups laissant poindre un birdie bien mérité.

Le green présente un double plateau et la difficulté résidera dans le dosage de l’approche ou du long putt si le drapeau est sur le second plateau.

Trou n°8

Par 4 - Distance 318m

trou8-pic

Une mise en jeu réfléchie sur ce dogleg droit vous donnera une réelle chance de passer ce trou sans encombre. Le green est divisé en deux zones et pour autant que vous soyez habile sur la profondeur de votre second coup, le putt restant devrait se négocier sans trop de difficulté.

Trou n°9

Par 5 - Distance 457m

trou9-pic

Ce long dogleg droit laisse une retombée de balle large pour autant que votre mise en jeu ne soit pas trop longue. Les plus longs frappeurs pourront tenter d’accrocher le green en deux coups, du moins si le vent dominant défavorable n’est pas trop soutenu. Mais un hors limite derrière le green et sur la partie gauche rendra la tâche assez délicate.

Le green est relativement plat mais les trois bunkers protègent bien celui-ci et pousseront les plus aguerris à une prudence mesurée.

Trou n°10

Par 3 - Distance 189m

trou10-pic

Ce long par 3 risque de mettre à rude épreuve les joueurs les plus patients. Le bunker de gauche, assez profond, attire les balles enroulées et compliquera la tâche du joueur imprécis.

Le green présente un double plateau, très difficile à lire et un « deux putts » sera toujours un excellent résultat. Attention à ne pas endommager le nouveau Clubhouse… ;-)

Trou n° 11

Par 4 - Distance 413m

trou11-pic

Trou le plus difficile du retour, ce par 4 nécessite un départ puissant au risque de vous laisser une attaque de green très longue.

Zone de retombée en aveugle pour les longs frappeurs, il vaut mieux laisser sa mise en jeu légèrement sur le gauche. La précision devra être de mise sur l’attaque du green sous peine de voir votre balle s’échouer dans un des deux bunkers entourant le green.

Le green repousse vos balles vers la droite et sa forte inclinaison entrainera un trois putts (ou pire) si vous n’y prenez pas garde.

Trou n°12

Par 4 - Distance 375m

trou12-pic

Ce par 4 de 375 mètres nécessitera une mise en jeu précise afin d’éviter de retrouver sa balle dans le rough ou dans les arbres qui bordent le fairway. Pour se laisser une bonne chance de par, il faudra jauger correctement la profondeur du second coup afin de ne pas vous laisser un putt en descente (trop court sera toujours mieux que trop long sur ce green).

Trou n°13

Par 3 - Distance 156m

trou13-pic

Par 3 de 156 mètres, ce trou résume à lui seul la philosophie de l’architecte : longueur abordable pour tout joueur, green pentu, bien protégé (3 bunkers), nécessitant une attaque du green précise (plutôt du coté gauche) si l’on veut éviter toute surprise…

Trou n° 14

Par 5 - Distance 497m

trou14-pic

Par 5 le plus long du parcours, il présente néanmoins une descente constante jusqu’au green. La difficulté sera de contenir vos ardeurs et de ne pas prendre le risque d’attaquer le green en 2 à moins d’avoir fait une mise en jeu longue et droite. Pour les plus prudents, le troisième coup ne laissera qu’une difficulté relative et le trou sera un apport pour votre carte de score en fonction du putt que vous vous laisserez. Attention tout de même à l’obstacle d’eau en cas de slice. Le green à l’allure plane pourra vous laisser de mauvais souvenirs si vous n’êtes pas sur vos gardes.

Trou n°15

Par 4 - Distance 350m

trou15-pic

Dogleg gauche de 350 mètres en montée, ce trou est relativement large mais tout écart de conduite se paiera cash. Une certaine longueur au départ sera nécessaire au risque de mettre les obstacles en jeu et/ou de vous fermer l’ouverture vers le green. Attention de tenir compte de la montée et du vent de face dominant pour votre deuxième coup. Le green est relativement plat quoi que légèrement pentu sur sa partie gauche et une attaque centrée se révèlera la plus appropriée.

Trou n°16

Par 5 - Distance 461m

trou16-pic

Deuxième par 5 du retour, à la différence du 14, ce trou est en montée du tee au green. Il faudra jauger la profondeur du dernier coup d’attaque vers le green qui se fera en aveugle. Attention également à ne pas s’égarer trop du green au risque de retrouver sa balle dans les bunkers ou pire encore, au fond du bois. Le green est assez long et vos balles auront tendance à fuir vers le bunker de droite.

Trou n°17

Par 3 - Distance 136m

trou17-pic

Trou le plus abordable du parcours (ouf..), ce par 3 assez court autorisera les petites erreurs, les bunkers étant assez peu en jeu. Attention toutefois à la pente qui éjectera vos balles vers l’entrée du green ou vous laissera un putt en descente plutôt délicat.

Trou n°18

Par 5 - Distance 436m

trou18-pic

Un par 5 pour finir sur une bonne note… Certes, les 436 mètres de ce trou n’effrayeront pas les plus longs frappeurs, mais les bunkers risquent de leur faire changer d’avis. Une bonne mise en jeu en draw vous ouvrira le deuxième coup et, pourvu que votre placement soit bien calculé au second coup, l’attaque de green sera assez aisée. Le green qui plus est est globalement plat. Attention toutefois au hors limite sur le côté gauche.